It’s brilliant! I’m achieving more imperfection.

Originally posted on 9th Feb 2015

The title says it all, I’m new to blogging.  I am doing a course and learning how to use all the tools so that I can talk to you with my own voice (online and in writing that is, not in audio).  I will know that I am succeeding if the people visiting my site feel connected and want to work with me because they “get” the blogs.   If you have any ideas for topics that you’d like me to think about please feel free to send me an email to sueschilling@outlook.com.  So for now, there are no fancy graphics, no links and a photo of a shopping centre made from shipping containers.  Please forgive me, at this stage I am more inclined to do something OK rather than wait until I have the perfect blog.  

Sharing an “incomplete” article, not editing it to death, just showing up is actually quite a big deal for me.  Through my own coaching I have worked out how I respond to pressure and how to handle my perfectionist tendencies, and even writing this sentence is part of my self management.  By declaring my level of expertise I invite you to see the real me; some of you might put your hands up to help me, which would be a win, some of you will empathise, many readers will agree that it’s better to try and not succeed than to do nothing.  Others will feel their stomach churning, their shoulders will hitch up to below their ears, their jaw has tightened and the voice in their head is screaming….. HOW COULD YOU!.  

It is to those people I say, just try, just experiment, just on one thing a day that’s OK that’s not perfect…. actually I’d like to caveat that.  Please, please don’t experiment when you are truly responsible for the safety of others. You can try when you are at play, perhaps put your t-shirts in your sock drawer, turn up late for something, use the wrong font or park at an angle at the supermarket car park.

I now know that perfect is not realistic, it’s stressful and it takes time, a lot of time, and you could be using that time for other things.  That’s why I used the shipping container shopping centre photo.  I took it in Christchurch NZ a year after the earthquake, for me it represents the belief that progress is the most important thing, and that people have more time for living if they just move forward.

If you want to learn more about how your behavioural tendencies impact differing aspects your life why not try a coaching session, you never know what doors might open as a result.  

Contact me on SueSchilling@outlook.com

Leave a Reply

